I swear I wasn’t snooping

Mother’s Day is looming in France; it’s not one of those days that I am particularly attached to. I do love the poetry they teach my son at school, but I am pretty lucky, and I feel the love from my family much more often than once a year. My children are ridiculously into cuddles, and kisses, and saying things like ” I love you all the way to Santa Claus, and back ” (their personal twist to Guess how much I love you).

Because of this, it might be assumed that I would be easy to surprise, but this would be wrong.
I got in late last night after everyone went to bed; the lights were all out when I crawled into bed, and there was a very odd sensation at my feet. I reached down under the covers and pulled out a package, it was dark and I was tired, so I couldn’t tell what the crap was in my bed. As my fading consciousness woke up again, I realized it was something that was gift wrapped. I put two and two together and then had a difficult time falling asleep thinking of my adorable five year old who clearly hid my present in his own favourite hiding spot. 

Then this morning I was getting dressed for work and couldn’t find my belt. I looked all over for it, and came up completely empty handed. As a last resort, I checked under my bed thinking it might have been swept under there after I dropped it on the floor after the last time I wore it (I am really not great at putting my clothes away, even after years and years of nagging by parents, boyfriends, and roommates. I mean seriously people, I have more important things to do than clean up after myself, after all the TV isn’t going to watch itself).

I almost never look under my bed for fear of a dust bunny attack and yet today I did, to find another gift wrapped “thing”. 

It was a good start to a pretty great day; aside from the incident in which all the work I have done for the last year was summed up in front of all my peers and management as “giving access to a website” the day was pretty fantastic. 

I got home, made egg mcmuffins, ate them on the living room floor watching Kung fu panda with my babies and then put said babies to bed. Now I find myself with some time on my hands, so I started packing. 

Tonight I decided to pack the “high” toy shelf. I don’t know if you have one of these, but we have a shelf for all the loud toys, the ones that make your head want explode, the ones that could only have been brought into this house in the form of a gift to a child from either people without children, or people who actually really hate us. Their use is limited in both duration and frequency. I don’t think I have looked on that shelf in weeks, but I did tonight, and found yet another adorably gift wrapped “thing” . 

I don’t know what my “things” are yet, but I do know that my family through no fault of my own, are totally incapable of surprising me (also Crazy couldn’t wait any longer and recited his poem for us last weekend)…unless of course the actual surprise was this super crazy random fun scavenger hunt.

What are your thoughts?

