Middle of the night

i picked my son up from school today, and as soon as I saw him, I knew something was wrong. When I asked him, he told me he wished today was Carnival. Yes, sure Carnaval was nearly a month ago for most people, but in my sons school, they wait for warmer weather to celebrate it, so that little princesses can show-off their dresses outside and little Spider-Man’s and such can be identified. 

Aside: I hate that most of the kids in his school fall into gender stereotypes with the princesses and super heroes, but oh well, it’s like 176 of the happiest kids you will ever see. I, of course, am above all that because my kid has chosen to dress up as a geek…I mean astronaut, and we couldn’t be prouder. Aside closed.



He was blue all evening and was asleep before I got a chance to kiss him goodnight. Seriously, I was washing my hands while he went to bed and by the time I dried them and walked to his room…out cold. 

A few hours later I was brushing my teeth in the bathroom when I heard a soft knocking. I opened the door to find a wide eyed (with his glasses on) little boy, who appeared ready to start the day, with a look of overwhelming excitement on his face, “Today is Carnaval, right?” 

My heart burst, and just when I thought I couldn’t love that kid anymore, it turns out I could. I also felt the impending doom of having to break his heart at midnight, afterall, he was technically correct, but he still had 7 hours of sleep before he would get to bring his costume to school. He dealt with his disappointment with grace and climbed back into bed, with his glasses still on, and promptly fell back to sleep. 

I, sadly, am wide awake, my heart still boiling over and trying to remember the last time I felt as much joy as he just did in the middle of the night. 

One thought on “Middle of the night

What are your thoughts?

