Welcome back slippers

It’s one of those days where I woke up exhausted and just didn’t want to get out of bed, and my will to stay in bed is strong. It’s so strong that sometimes it overpowers me and makes me sick to my stomach, that’s how the day started.

Then I went to make tea, and was determined that the toaster was going to help me with this. I stared at it for awhile before remembering what I was actually trying to do.

The kids were exceptionally well behaved this morning and we were out the door on time, I was starting to think the day was picking up. This was especially true as I was leaving the school and saw all the parents arriving late, the ones who look freaked out and stressed and a bit panicked because it is only 8:30 and they are already late and exhausted. I know those parents, 4 days out 5 I am those parents.

Traffic was a nightmare, because it is raining, and since it only rains like 20 days out of the year here, people get all wired and weird on the road. Plus all the people who usually cycle or take a motor cycle take their car, so there were roughly twice as many cars as usual on the roads. Fun stuff.

I made it to work a solid 2 minutes early, great news. Then the day got all hectic and off plan – I like to plan my day, and for the last 6 months, I make a plan, and then I execute that plan. For the 6 years preceding that, if I managed to eat during the day, it was a good day. I have been lulled into a false sense of organizational security.

So hectic, busy, unplanned, running in the rain, uphill, blah blah blah, but whatever, my inbox is still under 20 and my to-do list still fits on one page, so not a total failure.

I made it home after more crappy traffic during which I only honked at one moron driver and opened the cupboard to grab my favourite wine glass to pour myself a reward for surviving another day. As I opened the cupboard things started falling on my head, nothing important a first, my travel coffee mug that I could whip against a wall and it wouldn’t be damaged, and then the glass.

It was like slow motion, and my survival instinct kicked it, I stopped moving, put my hands in front of my face just as the glass hit the counter and exploded. I am not exaggerating (much), it didn’t just break, it exploded. Hubby started screaming at the kids to get back a safe distance, and slippers were fetched out of storage, because nobody in our household wears slippers from May to December.

The major disadvantage to tiled floors are kids walk far too early because the tiled floors are too hard for them to crawl on and when glass breaks it travels to the farthest reaches of a room, so in this case, like 6 meters (or 20 feet for the metrically impaired). So I vacuumed once, ate dinner, vacuumed again, and I am still finding freaking shards. I can’t totally blame the tiled floors for that, it is also partly because I am moving and since the glass broke at nearly face height, my hair is now a moving glass dispenser.

I guess I could shower, but whatever, I’ll just grab a different glass instead and get down to the important things in life, in my slippers.

What are your thoughts?

