Living in a tree house: La Cabane Perchée

IMG_6012

My very thoughtful colleagues gave me a weekend in the mountains when I changed teams as a going away gift. It was for four, so I was forced to bring my family with me, but it was still half decent all the same.

They literally rented us a tree house, I cannot being to explain how excited my kids were at the thought of this.
IMG_6036

Not only was the idea super cool, so was the air. When we got there mid afternoon, I had to put on a sweater, a freaking sweater, it was fantastic. Crazy got to wear running shoes and long sleeves, that was his first favourite part.

His second favourite part was when he discovered he would be sleeping in bunk beds. It was a novel concept and he spent every waking minute in the cabin on his top bunk. Interestingly enough, he did not actually sleep there, but preferred a mat on the floor beside our bed. We weren’t surprised.

Squishy’s favourite part of the whole trip was a cricket. Not the sounds of the crickets instead of the rush of cars; it was one cricket. She found it in the grass and watched it “sing”. I’ve never seen her so fascinated.

So, we arrived at our tree house, and went for a wander. Not too freaking shabby.
Collage

We then decided to go out to eat, but didn’t know the area at all. We drove down the mountain side to a village we had seen on the way up in the hopes of finding a restaurant that was open. I picked one at random, that was a little hidden and out of the way. It looked like the restaurant was in an old wine cellar, and I figured it would be fairly temperature constant. I had happily put my sweater on that afternoon, but was exceptionally unprepared for the freaking freezing temperatures that came when the sun went down. Okay, it was 20 degrees, I have become a ridiculous excuse for a Canadian. The server took us down to the cellar and then kept walking right through it, into a back room. Based on the view, this back room was most probably built on a cliff. My picture doesn’t do it justice, but it was totally unbelievable and totally unexpected.

IMG_6041

I naturally wiggled my way into the seat that gave me a view of the door, this is necessary for me to avoid looking over my shoulder every time I hear movement, and it also happened to be the seat with the best view on the valley below us and the mountains in the background. This weekend was just getting better and better.

I of course didn’t sleep that night, nothing to do with the cabin or anything, just the standard too stupid to sleep stuff. I did enjoy however lying in bed, breathing in the smell of the wood cabin and listening to the nothingness. It’s been years since I “slept” in such utter silence. I need a new adjective to stop repeating myself, but it was somewhere along the lines of awesome. In the morning, I woke up to this sight:

IMG_6013

One of the highlights of this area is a wolf park. It is a kind of zoo, but much much more…awesome. There are three packs of wolves that live within a large and protected part of the mountain. We wandered about joyfully before picnicking and heading home.

Collage2

I tried really really really hard to complain about something all weekend, and I failed miserably. Even Squishy who sang in the car all the way home instead of sleeping was too freaking cute. So all in all, thanks guys, this was just about the most amazing gift I have ever gotten.

What are your thoughts?

