My best friend is trying to kill me

I have an overly motivated friend, who is desperately trying to get healthy and fit, which in theory is a good thing. But she is trying to take me down with her…and with my weak spirit, I am letting her. So, within a few months, I will either be fit and feel great again, or I will be dead.

She is part of a fitness group, and without really contemplating it, I signed up too, quite honestly, because she told me to (I told you, weak).

So today was the first day…and let me explain to you the hell I went through trying to keep up with some relatively fit men, and my friend, sympathetic and kindish, but still much more fit than me.

It’s an interesting program, there is a bit of jogging, a bit of interval training, a bit of muscle whatever, and a bit of stretching, so it’s not boring. It’s outside, which is awesome, I love being outside. It’s at lunch, so it doesn’t take away from my evenings, or force me to get up early (which is essential to my survival).

But, it’s outside and at lunch, that is during the hottest frickin part of the day. In fairness to the trainer dude, he does look for shade, but running in 30 degree weather is not my cup of tea.

So I came armed with my son’s cooling scarf that I tied around my waist, and a bottle of water, for either drinking or pouring over my head, depending on the urge that hit me. We started off slowly, jogging gently, and then suddenly everyone seemed to pick up speed or maybe I just slowed down to a walk, I don’t know. Either way, I was the last straggler who arrived for the first set of interval training. I managed I would say, most of the exercises and only had to fully give up once. By this point, I was no longer able to speak, mainly due to the fact that I was barely able to breathe.

So after that nightmare, guess what, more running. WOOHOO, my legs were still working, which was a surprising. They no longer knew how to run, but that’s beside the point.

Then it was into the forest trails, and it was like breathing fresh air. I felt lighter, I felt my energy level go up, and I felt like I could keep up. I did, for a total of 3 minutes, wait let me do that math again, yup, 3 minutes. Then I crashed again and went back to walking. The trainer fully gave up on me, and told me I could walk up the hill and wait for them while they finished their running. I didn’t object.

So, after my wimp out, it was time for abs and such, something I could keep up with, so I felt my confidence come back. We stretched a little bit and then we were to jog back. I felt pretty good and thought we could jog back to the starting point, naturally I felt this as we were going back down the hill. Once we were on flat ground and I had to carry my own weight, well, my optimism was quickly met with reality.

So now, after being a massive athletic failure, I am feeling only mildly dejected. This is mostly because I am so focused on feeling exhausted, and drained of all life. I am also feeling terrified because I may feel awful now, but it is only a fraction of what I am going to feel tomorrow morning.

One thought on “My best friend is trying to kill me

What are your thoughts?

