It would seem our family loves rain…who knew

We woke up this morning to the sounds of a thunderstorm outside. When we opened the blinds, the rain was pouring down heavily and the sky was regularly lit up by lightening.

I woke up before the alarm and listened calmly to the storm outside before hauling myself out of bed. Today, it was much easier to get up than the last four days. We had our work summer party Friday night and I correctly predicted that after having not participated in any sporting activities for well over a year, then dancing/jumping around like a crazy person for an entire night (not drunk, just crazy) would result in leg cramps for four days. My boss thought it would only be three, pfff, I sure showed him.

I was motivated out of bed this morning by the shrieks of joy coming from my children. They were overjoyed that it was raining. They were both beside themselves at the thought of…get this…wearing their rubber boots…and socks for that matter (because neither have been allowed to wear anything but sandals for over a month).

It is usually a battle to get these kids dressed in the morning and we usually resort to several forms of bribery to encourage their participation in this daily activity. Today, they were both dressed and ready to leave the house a full half hour before it was time to go. While I enjoyed their spirit, they were so anxious to get outside that I nearly freaked out trying to get everything ready, while two little monsters were alternately opening the door (without permission) or asking me when it was time to go.

On top of it, this morning required a little extra preparation. Even though it was raining heavily when the day started, who the hell knows what it will be like this afternoon. I stuffed their bags with changes of clothes, a variety of shoes, towels to follow the inevitable jumping in puddle incidents, plus the usual water bottle and school book for my son, and pretty much all the stuffed animals from her bed for my daughter.

Before they got themselves all out of control, while they were still registering that today was indeed going to mean socks, rubber boots and jumping in puddles, my son just stared out the window at the falling rain. He loves to watch rain and I must admit, I loved watching him watch the rain. While he stared mesmerized by nature a flash of lightening lit up the sky. He let out a gasp and then yelled “It’s Cars!!!”

 

What are your thoughts?

