An open letter to the morons who live next to me.

Dear morons,

I realise that you are 19 and therefore have no real understanding that the world is made up of people other than yourself. I was there once myself, and I would like to take this opportunity to send out a blanket apology for all the times I was loud and obnoxious when the people around me wanted nothing more than to be left in peace.

I would like to remind you that you live in a shared residence, your closest neighbours, ie us, live approximately 6 cm away from you, ie the thickness of our shared walls.

I realise that this means we sometimes need to compromise on our life styles a little bit to live harmoniously. For example, I don’t let my kids run around screaming outside your bedroom window at 7 in the morning; that would be inconsiderate of me.

I, like every other inhabitant of this building except you, am willing to compromise, to make sure my life impacts yours as little as possible, now, you are an adult, it is time for you to man up and do the same.

No one, but you and your friends wants to hear your music shake the walls, especially after midnight. The reality of my life is that weekend or weekday, my kids are up at 7. And believe me, tomorrow, you will know it too.

Now of course there are exceptions to every rule, and all of us neighbours are willing to put up with a party from time to time, but in civil society, it is time to time, not every two weeks, and you provide forewarning so that we can leave if we so choose.

As a hint, let me tell you about these places called bars. They are filled with like minded individuals, and are designed with the appropriate sound insulation. Go party, celebrate, have fun, be 19, but do so somewhere else and let me sleep.

Sincerely,
The old lady who lives next door.

What are your thoughts?

