Something that matters

I enjoy writing about nothing whatsoever, however, I was unable to sleep on Sunday night, thinking about all the ways I used to do things that mattered. I don’t do anything anymore. Mostly because I consider raising my kids something that matters and they take up all the time I have outside of work.

When I was younger, I did stuff, lots of stuff that contributed to, you know, mankind, I volunteered at a homeless shelter, I tried (and failed, but that is beside the point) to put together a fund in my high school to “adopt” a child in a 3rd world country and I spent a large portion of my time in University working with high school girls, reminding them that Engineering is a perfectly respectable place for them.  I spent a year and half doing research on osteoporosis and tutored other kids from the time I was about 10 years old.  I contributed, I helped, I did stuff that mattered.

I fully recognize that I won’t have time/energy in the next few years to do anything that matters beyond looking after my family,  but I do want to do something. I will try to dedicate a post here and there to other people who do stuff that matters and that is about the best I can offer.

This month, I choose Movember, which is not just about growing horrible facial hair, but more importantly about raising awareness and raising funds for research for Men’s health, in particular prostate and testicular cancer and mental health.

The Canadian Movember site  can provide you with a lot of information about what is going on and how you can get involved. You can donate money, go to one of their events or join a Movember team. All in all it is a pretty great way to do something great.

One thought on “Something that matters

  1. I felt the same way when I was you age. In retrospect the way I was contributing at that time was by raising little people who would become contributing adults so that I maybe had a small part in my son volunteering for two months at an orphanage overseas, or my daughter becoming a big sister. never underestimate the value of great parenting!

What are your thoughts?

