To sleep or not to sleep

For reasons that are irrelevant to this discussion, I moved Squishy from her travel bed to my bed when I went to bed last night. Okay, in short, she gets a little cold at night here and is too stupid, er, young, to stay under her blanket, so the last two nights I have put her in bed with me, and I spend the night covering her up. Two things I have learned from this, next trip when Hubby asks, “should we bring her sleeping bag?”, my answer will be, “hell ya”, rather than sarcastically saying, “nah, I don’t think we will need it, we now have electricity in Canada and can heat our houses.” Second, Squishy did not wake up when I moved her from her bed to mine, not even a little bit, not even an eye flutter or anything. 

This second one got me thinking-while lying wide awake at 4 a.m.-whether I would like to possess the ability to sleep that soundly. 

Pros

I am thinking I wouldn’t be lying awake at 4 a.m. any more.

I would sleep right through any number of sounds that regularly wake me up, such as the howling wind, my alarm clock, the dumbass neighbours who sit outside and yell and scream and play ridiculously loud music until all hours of the night.

I would sleep through Hubby’s movements and snoring-yes, you snore, accept that it happens from time to time and get over it.

I wouldn’t wake up in heart attack mode every time Crazy kicks the wall in his sleep, and I am afraid that he has fallen head first out of his bed onto the tiled floor.

Cons

I may never sleep again, I mean not waking up even a little bit when some one physically lifts you up and moves you (that should be read with a loud, astonished voice with a hint of panic).  How freaking terrifying would that be? I think I would have to put on lots of weight to make moving me a real challenge for anyone. Even then, sleeping in airplanes, or other public places (???) would no longer be possible.

So, insomnia vs sleep of the dead, I am still undecided. You?

What are your thoughts?

