FYI, we are okay

So, I just want to give a shout out to all those back home (which is kind of weird to say given that I am currently in my native land) to let you know, we made it okay. Sorry I haven’t emailed, texted, face booked or anything. To ask your forgiveness, please find below a non personal group post to catch you up on our holidays.

The kids survived the 18 hours of traveling wonderfully, and even got a few compliments from other tired travellers who were surprised that our children didn’t scream for 8 straight hours. Squishy did lose it while we were waiting for our car at the rental counter. She totally freaked out and the only thing that could calm her down was for her to sit in her car seat, that was sitting on the floor, strapped in,  and covered with her blanket.

I am also proud to say that I only had one meltdown myself, it was in traffic leaving the airport in Ottawa. Seriously, after being up for nearly 20 hours straight, the last thing you want to do is sit in traffic. In fact, I never like traffic, it is a stupid concept, whomever invented it should be shot. Okay, okay, I know no one invented it, but whomever decided to keep building houses and offices, BUT, not to build new roads should never ever be allowed in office again. Also, people who don’t get actively involved in politics and/or vote regularly, probably shouldn’t be allowed an opinion.

So, we have been enjoying a lovely Canadian autumn with blue skies, leaves of all colours and about 10 degrees less than what we are accustomed to. We have generally been doing a whole lot of nothing, which is exactly what I was hoping for. We get up slowly, and we watch a little TV, by the way, my mom has now got us hooked on Homeland which I totally recommend, we play outside, we wander about and just generally “chill”, at times in all possible meanings of the word.

We have been enjoying the preparations for a real Halloween, which even involved sewing a Halloween costume. I won’t pretend to be some super mom who makes costumes from scratch, I just had to replace a zipper on a sweet little tiger costume for Squishy.

I also had an interesting and unexpected surprise. My aunt decided a few months ago to stop colouring her hair and to go au naturale, and I decided shortly there after to do the same. It has been months of having a very distinct “bowl” sitting on my head where the real colour was coming in. Yesterday, I cut it all off, and for those of you who are in the know, no I didn’t do it myself this time, I had a professional take care of it, so both sides are once again the same length. So now, for the first time in years, I saw my reflection with my real hair colour, it was kind of weird. Also, my dads girlfriend looked at me and said “what happened?” with a look that really meant “did your head catch on fire?”, so be warned, it is short, and I expect all of you to lie to my face and tell me it looks terrific.

And that is about all, jet lag is happily behind us after kicking us in the ass for a solid three or four days, and the gods of shittiness decided to give Crazy and I a cold which made the jet lag all that more fun. So now we have a solid week of not wanting to murder each other before we do the 18 hours of traveling and jet lag all over again, yay!

Miss you, and see you all soon!

4 thoughts on “FYI, we are okay

  1. I was about to text you a couple of days ago, but then I rationalized that if you aren’t saying anything it’s because you want to be left alone, not because one of the planes crashed. Good to know you’re ok and your regular self – especially with a new haircut. Miss you. Have fun and see you soon.
    BTW, Expedia keeps asking us to check-in for our BCN flight, and the harassment started two weeks ago! They’re nuts.

What are your thoughts?

