Happy Mother’s Day

No, I am not on some new age calendar that switches all the holidays around, I am well aware that it is not Mother’s Day in France or Canada (these fall on different days every year and in Canada it is earlier AND I always forget to wish my mother a great day until brother bear or sister bear remind me). But today is MY mother’s day. Today she turns 48, which is the nicest age I can say while still remaining in the realm of possible.

So today, this post is for my mom.

 

One a totally unrelated note, they really used to make things to last, that lamp in the background is still in my mothers living room, thankfully that couch isn't.

My mom and her daughters. On a totally unrelated note, they really used to make things to last, that lamp in the background is still in my mother’s living room some 30 years later, thankfully that couch isn’t.

Dear Mom,

You once said to me that you hated seeing your daughters make the same mistakes that you did, but when I look at you, I see a strong, independent woman who is doing pretty great, so I don’t mind making the same mistakes to learn first hand what you have clearly learned.

You have given me more than you realise and for that I am thankful. You gave me your stubbornness, that yes, I see as a good quality. Anyone who really wants to affect change and impact the world in a positive way must be insanely stubborn. You passed down your strength and independence and your knack for organisation.  I know people call us anal because of this last quality, but trust me, I know how awesome it is and I think they are just jealous.

I remember you there when I swam, when I danced, and when I cried. I saw you work harder than you should have had to so that you could provide for us and be the best role model you could be. And even though I vowed never to turn out like you, I am proud to say in the end I have.

Thanks mom,
Xx
Me

What are your thoughts?

