I have something profound to say

I am sure if I really thought about it, I would find something profound to say. I feel like it is in there, but I just can’t reach it. The only thing that comes to mind right now is how difficult I find it to leave only one space after a period when I am typing.

I started typing on an actually typewriter when it was necessary to put two spaces after the period to make sure it was visible. What I have learned recently, following a heated debate on the differences between French and English punctuation, is this double space is no longer required with all our funky word processing applications and therefore no longer considered correct.

But I seem unable to adapt to this. I took my first and only typing class when I was 16 and have thanked my high school for making this available ever since. Being able to type quickly without looking is a lifesaver, okay, more accurately a time saver, so far no one has ever put a gun to my head and said if you can’t type 60 words a minute you are dead.

I can draft up a term paper, a document, an email, a blog post in a fraction of the time it takes the two finger typers, leaving me more time for my obsessive compulsive reading and rereading of whatever I just wrote to make sure everything is just how I want it.

At 16 my fingers learned how to type and I haven’t really ever thought about it since, they pretty much do their own thing. So now, when they need to relearn to not double tap the space bar after a period, I suddenly understand first hand the phrase you can’t teach an old dog new tricks.

So, anyway, I am sure I have something profound to say, I just wish I could find it. Space space

2 thoughts on “I have something profound to say

  1. Good point. How about not touching the shift key to capitalize the first letter of a new sentence on an iPad. It capitalizes for you but who needs to unlearn the automatic reaction.

What are your thoughts?

