Small victories

Crazy,  my three year old, has a very frustrating developmental delay, he refuses to poop.  This has been going on for well over a year now and for some reason drives me to tears.  I know very well with a little maturity and a little patience he well get over this hump and his sphincter will eventually start working like a normal body part, but right now it makes me mental.

The biggest problem, is not that he holds in his poop, it’s that eventually nature takes over and says, you might not want me, but here I come, and I’m bringing my friend hanging out in this guys bladder with me.

I picked Crazy up from school today (which will be the subject of a whole week worth of posts when I am feeling up to it), and standing in the yard of his school, he just ups and wets himself.  So, I am mortified, which I know I shouldn’t be, but I still feel like everyone’s eyes are on me judging me, AND my son, plus, the standard tears of frustration start to swell in my eyes, I am carrying my 15 month old daughter, Squishy,  and I feel for the sixth time this week that I am going to break.  I managed to gather up all the calm and patience I had left, got the kids home, and what does Crazy do, he goes right to the toilet and poops.  I couldn’t stop the tears this time, relief mixed with joy overwhelmed me.  Before I had kids, I never imagined I could feel this much joy over someone else’s bowel movement.

What are your thoughts?

